Why I don’t need a new car

No, this post is not about the Chitty Chitty Bang Bang car (as sweet as that may be). But when I was searching for a good picture for this post on google iamges, this picture came up, so I figured why not! I like Professor Potts and toot sweets anyway. If you haven’t seen the movie, you need to! :)

This is a part II of my last post, “Riches to Rags”, where I talked about the world trying to get you to believe you need things, and God trying to tell us that He is enough. Recently I have been struggling to see this in my own life. I have looked to things that will fade, grow old, rot, let me down, or even worse: lead me down a wrong path. One example: I have always loved cars. I have owned 6 cars to date and enjoy working on them, fixing them up, buying parts to make them go faster or look nicer, etc. For the last 3 years I’ve had one car (a 4-door sedan) that doesn’t tempt me to spend time on it as I have in other cars in the past (like a supercharged camaro and a turbo camaro I had – some pictures here). I think I am past/graduated from the days that I neglect my family and loved ones and dump all my money into a vehicle, but I miss having a car that I could do stuff to and really enjoy driving. I don’t think there is anything inherently wrong with these desires, or even anything wrong with BUYING a car like that as long as I kept other priorities (family, finances, GOD, etc.) in check. But I confess that recently I have been wasting so much time on the internet trying to find another car, even if it was just something different. My mind has not been on Christ, but on Craigslist!

It’s funny how God works sometimes. I had this struggle (described above) and then in the same week my cars vacuum pump for the door locks went out. I have grown to un-appreciate German engineering because in order to get the car’s fuel door unlocked (to put gas in the car) the locks have to be un-locked. So my car had been sitting in the garage with little gas and I couldn’t drive it anywhere because I couldn’t fill it up! So, I figure I will just have to eat the expensive cost for a new vacuum pump and install it myself. Little did I know, the vacuum pump for the door locks is in the trunk… and the trunk is also locked!. So what did I do last night? I had to crawl in through the backseat and install the new vacuum pump in my garage with a fan and worklight (remember, it was some 101 degrees yesterday). Needless to say, I got it all back together and working but now the check engine light is on. Back to the drawing board! The problem is… from working 2 jobs I have little time to work on the car, so I figure I will just take it to the dealership to have somone else fix it. But what makes me think I would have time for any other car? I have had to tell friends and family ‘no’ to working/helping to fix their cars (which I enjoy doing), and now that mine needs attention, I struggle to find the time. I think God is trying to get me to see the bigger picture. Having a new or different car isn’t practical right now at the season of life I am in. I am paying off debt, new in a marriage, working 2 jobs and managing a house! Who knows… I might get another car some day that I enjoy more, but its not right now and not in this fashion. I want to have my priorities in line and work on getting the first things first. [My next post will include a video to a song with this theme/idea in mind.] I don’t claim to be past all of this just yet, but I certainly am praying that God will change my mindset as I trust in Him!

~ by savedalone on June 25, 2010.

6 Responses to “Why I don’t need a new car”

  1. david ive had too many cars to count, but my cars have brought me to people that would never think of a christian as a hotrodder, most guys think you cant be both and their wrong, jesus picked fisherman as his disciples, and fisherman will try any kind of bait, if a car brings them to you , then theres your chance to do some talking, i have said more prayers for guys at carshows than i can remember. so get ya some bait…lol

  2. thanks brian-
    I agree it can definitely be used as a unique avenue for sharing the gospel and meeting new people that would not be possible otherwise, and i hope one day i can utilize and seize those opportunites!

  3. Thats awesome dude. I was just feeling that same way about my 1996 Firebird, it’s in need of a few things and I want an LS1 pretty bad. but after reading that… Maybe I really should get my priorities straight. Thanks!

  4. Evan,
    The “modding bug” is a hard thing to control. Since I’ve written this post I picked up a 98 ls1 myself. It’s a whole new outlook for me now. Definitely make decisions with council and time behind you also. God bless!

  5. Hi

  6. I have a 97 Honda Accord that has 215k miles. But I would suggest buying GAP insurance & extended warranty if you have a “status” type of car. One thing that might make people feel a little “better” about buying used is that once you drive the car off the lot, nobody can tell it is used! I thought luxury cars are suppose to hold their price better. Next time I want a new car, I’ll look at a Mercedes S class. Faltenbehandlung

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

